Is coconut a fruit or a nut?

Fruit

---

Coconuts are fruits, not nuts.

---

A coconut is all of these: a seed, a fruit and a nut! Coconut is a seed because it is the reproductive part of the tree, coconut is a fruit because it is a fibrous one-seeded drupe and coconut is a nut because a loose definition of a nut is nothing but a one-seeded 'fruit'.

---

Despite having the word “nut” in its name, a coconut is a fruit — not a nut. In fact, a coconut falls under a subcategory known as drupes, which are defined as fruits that have an inner flesh and seed surrounded by a hard shell.

---

Despite having the word “nut” in its name, a coconut is a fruit — not a nut. In fact, a coconut falls under a subcategory known as drupes, which are defined as fruits that have an inner flesh and seed surrounded by a hard shell.

---

Botanically speaking, a coconut is a fibrous one-seeded drupe, also known as a dry drupe. However, when using loose definitions, the coconut can be all three: a fruit, a nut, and a seed.