What's the difference between yellow cake mix and white cake mix?

White cake uses only, or almost all, egg whites. Yellow cakes get their color and more custardy flavor from using whole eggs, including the yolks.

---

The primary difference between white and yellow cake mix is that white cake mix leaves out the yolks of the eggs called for in the recipe and yellow cake uses them.