Why is a teddy bear called a teddy bear?

Teddy Bears are stuffed animals that look like the bear depicted in Clifford Berryman's 1902 political cartoon of president Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt refusing to shoot a bear.

---

Teddy bears are named after former U.S. president Theodore Roosevelt, who chose not to hunt a bear on one of his wilderness excursions.