Why do they call redheaded people ginger?

This is because the popular American TV show featured a character named Ginger Grant (Tina Louise), who had red hair and pale skin. Ginger quickly became enormously popular among Americans and people began calling redheads gingers because they looked similar to Ginger from the show.