Are scallions and green onions the same thing?

Scallions and green onions are literally the same thing. Spring onions, on the other hand, are a different thing. The bulb of a spring onion is much larger, compared to the small, not-so-bulbous scallion. ... Most scallions (and green onions) never grow true bulbs.