How do you get rust off a cast iron pan?

Use fine steel wool to remove rust from affected areas. Scour the skillet until the area returns to raw cast iron. Wash the skillet thoroughly: Wash the cast iron with warm water and mild dish soap. Scrub with bristle brush, gentle scouring pad, or mesh sponge if needed. The Kitchn website