Where was the first iron man race held in nineteen seventy eight?

The first-ever IRONMAN race took place on Oahu in 1978. Conceived by John and Judy Collins as a way to find the toughest endurance athlete, the event combined three iconic races: The Waikiki Roughwater Swim, the Around Oahu bike race, and the Honolulu Marathon.