What does a cactus do?

A cactus is a member of the plant family Cactaceae, a family comprising of about 127 genera with some 1750 known species of the order Caryophyllales. The word "cactus" derives, through Latin, from the Ancient Greek kaktos, a name originally used for a spiny plant whose identity is not certain.