Why is death valley called death valley?

Death Valley was given its forbidding name by a group of pioneers lost here in the winter of 1849-1850. They all assumed that this valley would be their grave. They were rescued and as the party climbed out of the valley one of the men turned, looked back, and said "goodbye, Death Valley."