Do they have snakes in new zealand?

New Zealand is one of several large islands around the globe where there have never been native snake populations. New Zealand does not have any land snakes, but it is visited on occasion by the yellow-bellied sea snake (Pelamis platurus) and the banded sea krait (Laticauda colubrina).