Can you give me a summary of world war one?

World War 1 started July 28, 1914 after the assasination of Arch Duke Franz Ferdinand of Austria. Europe in the early 1900's experienced a wave of nationalism and military alliances. Austria-Hungary declared war on Serbia bringing several alliances into war. The war ended 4 year later 1918.