What's the difference between whiskey and rum?

Whiskey was originally made from corn. (The best whiskey still is.) Rum is made from sugar cane. Whiskey also tends to be aged longer.

---

The source of these alcohols is very different. Rum is usually made from sugar cane. Whiskey is made from grains.