What is sonic one sixteen?

Sonic 1 (16-bit), or "Sonic the Hedgehog (16-bit)" is the first game in the long-running series by video game publisher and former console maker Sega. First released in the US and Europe on June 23rd, 1991, it was the premier outing for the character of Sonic the Hedgehog.