What is a mortar and pedestal?

Mortar and pestle are implements used since ancient times to prepare ingredients or substances by crushing and grinding them into a fine paste or powder. The mortar is a bowl, typically made of ceramic or hard stone such as granite. The pestle a heavy and blunt club-shaped object made similarly.