What is the most common pet to have?

Worldwide, people own cats and dogs the most as pets. Their worldwide numbers tend to be about equal, but locally, the numbers of cats vs dogs varies by state, region and country. Some countries have 10 times more dogs than cats. Others strongly favor cats.