Why did we lose the vietnam war?

Because of terrain, culture, and governmental decisions. We did not know the terrain. They did. We did not know the enemy. Every person in Vietnam was a potential enemy. We could not tell who were friendlies. The U. S. Made poor decisions and became to involved.