What's the average pace for a mile?

For a typical person, an average mile is about 10 minutes for men and 11 minutes for women.

---

A noncompetitive, relatively in-shape runner usually completes one mile in about 9 to 10 minutes, on average. If you're new to running, you might run one mile in closer to 12 to 15 minutes as you build up endurance. Elite marathon runners average a mile in around 4 to 5 minutes.