Are magnets bad for electronics?

Generally speaking, magnets are not bad for electronics, but they can damage or destroy storage devices that use magnetic media such as floppy disks, cassette tapes or the magnetic stripe on a credit card.

---

Not all electronics. What they can damage, are storage devices based on magnetic storage. Like a credit card strip, a hard drive, a floppy disk, a magnetic tape, that sort of thing. ... So of course a magnet strong enough to disturb those magnetic patterns will destroy the data.