Give me an example of an accent?

Some accent characters are the accent grave, caret, tilde, apostrophe, umlaut, and virgulilla. They are used to indicate the letters that require a major inflection or emphasis when speaking the word. English is one of the few modern languages that does not use an accent on its words.