Why do your fingers get pruney?

The skin on your fingers can become wrinkly or "pruney" when soaked in water, because the skin becomes enlarged as water is absorbed. Since your finger remains the same size, tiny folds or wrinkles, develop in your skin to accommodate the extra surface area.

---

Laboratory tests confirmed a theory that wrinkly fingers improve our grip on wet or submerged objects, working to channel away the water like the rain treads in car tires.