Why doesn't the united states use the metric system?

In the late 1790s when the US was deciding on its system of weights & measures, Thomas Jefferson elected to use the British Imperial System. Now most manufacturing plants have machinery & products developed to IS units. It would be too time-consuming & expensive to update to the metric system.