How long does it take to boil an egg?

5 minutes

---

According to James Beard award winner Kenji Alt Lopez, bring a pot of water to a boil and lower the eggs in. Let the eggs cook for 30 seconds, then cover the pot and lower the heat to a simmer and continue cooking for 11 minutes.