What is sweet and sour sauce?

One recipe calls for 2 cups water, 1 ½ cups sugar, 1 cup ketchup, 1 8 oz. can pineapple tidbits, undrained; ⅔ cup distilled white vinegar, 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, ½ tablespoon steak sauce, ½ tablespoon cayenne pepper hot sauce, and 3 tablespoons cornstarch