How long can milk be left out on the counter?

2 Hours. In general, perishable foods like milk should not sit out of the refrigerator or cooler for longer than two hours. Cut that time down to an hour in the summer if the temperature reaches 90 degrees F.. After that time frame, bacteria can start to grow.