What's a knight rider?

David Hasselhoff (The Hoff) played the character Michael Knight in the 1980s television show Knight Rider. With the help of his AI 1982 Pontiac Trans Am, Kitt (Knight Industries Two Thousand) and the developers of the car Michael Knight fought evil doers. The series aired on NBC from 1982 -1986.