Who is britney gardner?

Brittney Griner is an American pro basketball player for the Phoenix Mercury of the WNBA. She was sentenced on Aug 4, 2022 to 9 years in a Russian penal colony, following her arrest in February at an airport near Moscow, when customs officials found cannabis oil in her luggage.