What was the biggest war in u. s. history?

Without a doubt, it was the American Civil War, 1861-1865. Although the number of casualties was finally eclipsed by the Vietnam War, no other war has been nearly as significant to the change in our country. Until Vietnam, the Civil War had more deaths than all of the US's wars combined.