What is the mating season for hummingbirds?

In mid to late March, hummingbirds return to the U.S. and Canada from their southern winter migration to Mexico and Central America. Males of most hummingbird species typically return north 1 to 2 weeks ahead of females to scout out and establish their mating territory.