What part of the pig is the ham hock?

A ham hock, or pork knuckle, is the joint that attaches a pig's foot to its leg. While a hock is not technically an ankle, its anatomical location corresponds to that of a human ankle or lower calf region. Ham hocks are not to be confused with the pig's shank (shin) or trotter (foot).