What is this word p. l. a. i. n.?

P-L-A-I-N spells "plain," which can either describe something as being simple, unadorned, uncomplicated, easily understood, or unpretentious; or refer to a large expanse of flat land with few if any trees.

---

I means simple; clearly evident; or unpretentious;