How did ketchup get its name?

Ketchup came from the Hokkein Chinese word ke-tsiap, a sauce that came from fermented fish. Jonas Yerkes first bottled and sold ketchup nationally in 1837. Legend says that Henry John Heinz invented ketchup by adapting a Chinese recipe for so-called Cat Sup, a thick sauce made from tomato.