Why do they call an ice cream sundae?

A sundae is called a sundae because most local laws banned Ice Cream sodas to be made on Sunday, so this treat was made to be eaten on a Sunday. It was stated that ice cream sodas were too "sinful" and the sundae is just perfect a Sunday afternoon.