How do you tell a fruit from a vegetable?

A fruit develops from the flower of a plant, while the other parts of the plant are categorized as vegetables. Fruits contain seeds, while vegetables can consist of roots, stems and leaves.

---

A fruit has seeds and ovaries that allow it to reproduce. Fruits also generally taste sweeter than vegetables.