What is it mean to scold milk?

Scalded milk is dairy milk that is heated to 181 degrees F., or just below the boiling point. Since milk is pasteurized in production, which kills enzymes and destroys bacteria, scalding milk is not necessary, but is mostly done just to increase the serving temperature