What's a v. c. e. pattern?

The Vowel-Consonant-e, or VCe pattern, is an English language spelling pattern that is true for all long vowel sounds. When a single vowel is followed by a single consonant, then the letter 'e', the first vowel is pronounced as a long vowel sound and the letter 'e' is silent.