Who is the first robot in the world?

The earliest robots as we know them were created in the early 1950s by George C. Devol. He invented and patented a reprogrammable manipulator called "Unimate.” But, robots have been around since around 3000 B.C. when Egyptian water clocks used human figurines to strike the hour bells.