What is covert narcissism?

Covert narcissism (also known as vulnerable narcissism) is the more introverted side of Narcissistic Personality Disorder. A covert narcissist experiences the same insecurities as an overt narcissist, but internalizes their self-importance, often while hyper-focusing on their need for attention.