How do hermit crabs reproduce?

Hermit crabs travel to water in mass for a mating ritual. The males and females come out of their shells a little -- not the whole way -- and the male transfers a spermatophore to the female. When it implants, it can deposit thousands of eggs along the female's abdomen. Sounds icky, doesn't it?