How do hermit crabs reproduce?

Hermit crabs travel to water in mass for a mating ritual. The males and females come out of their shells a little -- not the whole way -- and the male transfers a spermatophore to the female. When it implants, it can deposit thousands of eggs along the female's abdomen. Sounds icky, doesn't it?

---

Female hermit crabs usually lay their eggs shortly after mating, but can store sperm for many months. The eggs are fertilized as they are laid by passing through the chamber holding the sperm. The eggs are carried and hatched in a mass attached to the abdomen inside the shell.