How do hermit crabs reproduce?

Female hermit crabs usually lay their eggs shortly after mating, but can store sperm for many months. The eggs are fertilized as they are laid by passing through the chamber holding the sperm. The eggs are carried and hatched in a mass attached to the abdomen inside the shell.