Why do they call eggs deviled eggs?

The term "Deviled" comes from an eighteenth-century cooking book where every dish that was highly spiced was called "Deviled". In the eighteenth-century spices from around the world became available to the general public rather than just the king and royalty.

---

Deviled is a cooking term used to described something cooked with lots of hot or spicy seasonings.