What was the first satellite sent to space?

Sputnik 1 was the first artificial Earth satellite. It was launched to space by the Soviet Union in 1957.

---

The Soviet Union rocketed Sputnik into space on Oct. 4, 1957. This was the first artificial satellite any nation sent out of the Earth. The launch — revealed only after it was a success — stunned most of the Western world.