What's the difference in several and a few?

The difference between several and a few is technically not much, but it's about the emphasis/ tone adding meaning to a value: I told her no a few times (making a statement 3 to 4). I told her no several times (adds to the value of the statement, suggests more serious tone. And larger value 4 to 5