What is plum island used for?

Plum Island is the site where the U.S. government studies the world's most dangerous animal diseases in order to protect the U.S. food supply. It is the only lab in the U.S. that works with active strains of the incredibly contagious and animal-ravaging foot-and-mouth disease.