What kind of dog is a lab?

A lab, short for Labrador retriever, is a British breed of a retriever gun dog. Labrador retrievers are bred to assist hunters by picking up birds and other game prey without harming them. Their soft mouths and ability to obey and follow instructions make them valuable partners.