Why are fire flames blue?

Blue Flames Indicate Temperatures of 2,300 to 3,000 Degrees Along with the complete burning of carbon, this is why gas-burning fires typically have a blue flame. They heat up more quickly and to higher temperatures than fires using other fuel sources, resulting in a blue flame.