What is the dementor's kiss?

The Dementor's Kiss is the act of a Dementor sucking out a person's soul, and is considered a fate worse than death. When Kingsley Shacklebolt became Minister for Magic after the end of the Second Wizarding War in 1998, Dementors were no longer used by the Ministry of Magic.