Why is the harvest moon orange?

According to Professor Emeritus John Percy of the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics University of Toronto. The moon and the sun both look redder when they’re by the horizon. We’re seeing them through the maximum thickness of atmosphere, which absorbs blue light and transmits red light.

---

According to Professor Emeritus John Percy of the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics University of Toronto. The moon and the sun both look redder when they’re by the horizon. We’re seeing them through the maximum thickness of atmosphere, which absorbs blue light and transmits red light.