What's a purple heart metal?

The Purple Heart medal is presented to service members who have been wounded or killed as a result of enemy action while serving in the U.S. military. A Purple Heart is a distinction and means a service member has greatly sacrificed themselves, or paid the ultimate price, while in the line of duty.