How strong is a hippopotamuses bite?

Hippos may seem like gentle, whimsical animals, but any naturalist will tell you they're every bit as dangerous as lions or wolves, but it can bite an unwary tourist completely in half with a ferocious force of 2,000 pounds per square inch.