What is the song ring around the rosies about?

The children's singing game, "Ring Around the Rosie," has existed since at least the 1800s, with versions from England, Germany, Italy, and Switzerland, and while some popular theories link the original meaning to historical plagues, folklorists have found no evidence to support that interpretation.