Why are charley horses called charley horses?

In the 1890s, an old horse named Charley was used to pull a roller across the infield in the old Chicago White Sox ballpark. His muscles would get so stiff he could hardly walk. Players and spectators who got a cramp thought of the old horse and started calling the condition a charley horse.